WELCOME TO MARGIEHOLDSCOURT.COM


 
A 20-Hour Course in Punctuation: PUNCTUATION PRECISION.


Rather than a comma rule here and a dash rule there, this course puts it all together and offers a comprehensive look at punctuating the court reporting transcript. In this 20-hour class, we will begin with a look at clauses and how to punctuate them. We will move to the period, the question mark, the quotation mark and then on to the colon, the dash, and the semicolon. We will wind up with the comma that separates and the comma that sets off. As we go, we will look at number form, the hyphen, the apostrophe, and a little capitalization. This is a rare chance to look at all the rules that govern how we punctuate the spoken word and see how they interrelate – a crucial class for every reporter, scopist, and proofreader. And students are more than welcome also.  It is recommended, though no mandatory, that each student have Court Reporting: Bad Grammar/Good Punctuation and the accompanying Workbook, available at margieholdscourt.com, to reinforce the work we do in this class.
 
There is no partial registration. You must register for the entire course. The course has been preapproved by NCRA for .2 CEUs per session. These are the scheduled online class times. If you cannot attend a class, the recordings will be available. A written summary is then required for CEUs.
 
Sunday, August 16, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, August 23, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, August 30, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, September 13, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Saturday, September 19, 2015, 8:30 Pacific, 9:30 Mountain, 10:30 Central, 11:30 Eastern
Sunday, September 20, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, September 27, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, October 4, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Sunday, October 18, 2015, 3:30 Pacific, 4:30 Mountain, 5:30 Central, 6:30 Eastern
Saturday, October 24, 2015, 8:30 Pacific, 9:30 Mountain, 10:30 Central, 11:30 Eastern

Registration is now open. Here is the link to register for the class:

http://www.ccr.edu/index.php/component/content/article/43-loocs/450-cre303-punctuation-precision

If you need further information, write me at mww@margieholdscourt.com.


We are delighted to see you here on margieholdscourt.com. This is the “all about good English” website. You are here because you care about grammar and punctuation, because you want to learn more, because you love a lively debate about where to put that comma or what that number form should be!

Maybe you are here to read the blog. We hope so; but whether you want to follow the blog, ask an English question, book Margie for a seminar, or buy the most definitive book in the court reporting field on punctuating the transcript, you have come to the right place.

Look around the site. Check out the book — a general description of how it’s organized, the table of contents, samples from some of the chapters — and the workbook — section samples, the table of contents, how it coordinates with the text. And with just a click of the mouse, you can place an order for the text, the workbook, or the combination.

Maybe you are interested in Word Pears, Pares, Pairs. Where do you go to find that “other” spelling of rabbit? The dictionary is not always helpful for the obscure “other” spelling of a word since you wouldn’t be looking in the dictionary if you already knew how to spell it. Here you have word pairs together — parts of speech, definitions, examples of how they are used, and the idioms involved. It can be yours with just a click of the mouse.

Do you want to work on your accuracy? You might want to check out the series Practice Really DOES Make Perfect. These are conveniently sized to prop up for perfect practice. Do you need work on little words? contractions? fingering issues? Find sample pages here to practice and see how quickly you improve.

We look forward to your comments and questions and hope to see you one day soon at a convention or a seminar or online.

Happy punctuating!

Margie